TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Everyone in this world wants their children to become a good human being and to be successful in all the fields of life. There are many ways that parents usually adopt to facilitate their child to instill good qualities in them that will allow them to achieve their dream. Some people think that motivating their child to take a part-time job is the best way to help them whereas, many people do not think alike because they consider it as a waste of time. In my opinion it is the best way of parenting a child for following reasons.

Firstly, child at teenage is more prone to get spoiled in various nuisance activities and devastate their future. In modern world, there are so many latest technologies such as internet, computer and mobile phones that tend to divert the attention of young generation from their main goal. Teen agers spend more time on chatting on social networking sites in their spare time which lead them to certain risks to get involved in wrong things. I can recall one of the incidences shown on Discovery Channel where a seventeen year old boy killed a father of his girl friend whom he got to know through social networking site. According to the boy his friend told her that her father used to molest her but later it was found out that she was a mental patient and all she said to him was a fake story. That is why, it is necessary to engage children in constructive activities in their free time.

Second, it is very important to realize the value of money to become successful in life. Mostly, majority the parents provide great comfort and all the facilities to their children in order to help them to build a good future. On the contrary, they are depriving their kids to face the real challenges in life. On the other hand, when a child is doing a part-time job, she/he indeed learns the significance and how difficult it is to earn it. This not only makes them wiser but it also restrains them to waste money over unnecessary luxury items such expensive mobile phones etc.

To recapitulate, I would like to suggest that doing a part- time job is essential not only for students whose parents can’t afford the expense of their education. But it even contributes in building a strong foundation of those kids as well whose rich parents can unintentionally ruin their bright future by providing them unnecessary luxury things that will distract them from their main aim.