TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Adulthood is a very important stage of our lives because years after years we approach it and we have to face it finally. Some thinks in order to prepare children for this important stage, children should take a part-time job, but another group of people thinks it is too soon to allow their children to work. Personally, I agree that children should be allowed to take a part-time job to get prepared for adult life for few reasons, which I explain in the passage.

First, children grow and they won't be the same little baby that parents used to raise. In adulthood, these new grown-ups have to take their own responsibility and they can learn this feature by practicing in childhood. For example, I know a person whom his mom and dad used to take care of him a lot. His parents didn't allow him to go out or to talk to other children because they thought others may affect his behavior and the child may not become the person that his parents wanted. I happened to become friend with him when he grew older. He could not make even one decision for himself and had to call his parents to ask their opinion about everything he wanted to do. I really wanted to help him to become a self-oriented person and gain some independence, so I found him a job. It took a lot to convince his parents to agree with this work. Meeting a lot of people in one place was very exciting for him and in the workplace he learned to be independent and decides for his life. So I think a par time job can help a person to be grown-ups.

Second, it is true that a part-time job may hurt your grades in school because working requires time, and time management is the key to being successful at the both side. I used to study a lot and whenever the homework was done I began to read magazines about agriculture because it was a very interesting topic to me. As I grew older I wanted to find a job for myself. I thought finding a job can be very easy for me because I had a lot of theoretical knowledge about agriculture. Finally, someone employed me, but at the first time, I destroyed everything that they have planted because I did not have field experience in the job. Really theory is not everything and if I worked on a farm when I was younger I could have been more useful to my employer. so I got fired from the place at the end, but if I learned how to work at childhood I may found a better work opportunity now.

So that is why I think attending a part time job in childhood is very important to get prepared for adulthood because when you are a child you are more likely to learn how to do things in the best way easier. So I encourage every parent to find a part time job for their children.