TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Should parents encourage their adolescents to take a part-time job in order to help them to prepare for adulthood? Although some people may give a negative answer on the question, I strongly buttress the stance. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, taking a part-time job is an indispensable opportunity to give the offspring taste of freedom and responsibility. Indeed working for a company differs from children’s past experience; they will learn that there are rules, reward and punishment for violating or keeping to them. Although facing the reality may be a serious shock for them, they will enormously benefit from this kind of experience. Additionally to it, we need to state that teenagers will earn their first money. Acquiring their first bills and coins may be a transforming experience inasmuch as teenagers will be the first time in their entire life independent from their relatives even for a short period of time.

Secondly, working part-time will motivate teenagers to study harder. My stance is based on the observation that usually the first job is a blue collar work position. Youngsters will do some insignificant activities such as delivering newspapers or washing cars. An adolescent who gets this kind or life experience will inevitably learn that if he does not study hard, his future occupation will be similar to his today's job. Furthermore, the boy will see that an education and expertise have a direct impact on employees’ salaries as well.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to say that encouraging a youngster to take a part time job is a bad idea. Chiefly, the person may aver that a working teenager will be unavoidably robbed from his childhood because the one will participate to the working class and will be limited in his actions to have fun with friends and classmates. However, I still strongly affirm my viewpoint because adolescence is a period of transformation when a yesterday's child who played video games turns into a young reasonable and responsible adult. This is a crucial period of time which should be used by teenagers; otherwise, we may miss this nonage period and face a problem with a grown-up who lives in parents' basement and does not have a regular job.

To wrap up, parents ought to encourage their progeny to take a part-time job inasmuch as teenagers will greatly benefit from this kind of experience; they will taste freedom, independence and learn that in order to be successful they have to pursue college and university education.