TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

People have always been concerned about choosing their career in history. In fact, some people think choose a job that is similar to their parents is better and the rest of them think otherwise. As everybody knows, each way has some advantages and disadvantages. I personally prefer to have my own job instead of following my parent's career.

First and foremost, people especially young adults need to be independent. Nobody wants to be dependent on another person. A student, who choose to be in the same major as his or her parents, is choosing to be dependent on them, because it is impossible to have a same job without using their space, experience or equipment. For instance, my cousin was genius and he decided to continue his education in another country, but his parents persuade him to stay and continue their family job. They had a big lot and they were selling their products annually. After a while, he decided to stay and he started to think how he can be successful without his parent's help. Surprisingly, he found out that he has to ask too many questions about every single thing from his parents and it was a bummer for him. He had a dream to be on his feet, but he could not reach that, because he listened to his parent's advice and he left his personal dream. Unfortunately, he was not successful in his life, because he had to do something that he does not like and he did not know that before. He did not know that he has to be in the same area. In another word, he has not ever thought that way.

Second, in many cases parent's career is not interesting for children. Young adults want to be creative. They have many new ideas and they want to start something attractive. In the case of following their parent's career, they cannot be satisfied at all, because they have to listen to their parent's advice and it is boring for many children. Consequently, children cannot be successful in their life.

Third, it is nice to get a complete business right away, but in most times, children cannot understand the value of that business. Psychologically, people will love something that they spend time for it. They cannot find a value of others' businesses. Culturally, in some countries such as Iran, parents donate their business to their child, but in other countries like United States, parents sell their business when they think that they cannot work that hard. In the first case, children have no idea about the whole business and they ruin the job quickly.

To sum up, giving a prepare job opportunity to a child, who has no knowledge in that area is not only bad for his or her personality, but also is harmful for the business, because there is a huge possibility to destroy the company really fast.