TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

Sometimes, we may a interesting phenomenon that a majority members of a family choose the same jobs. For example, the family Bernoulli had a great contribution in the field of mathematics. Here raises the question: is it better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to ones that are totally different from their parents' job? As far as I am concerned, I am in favor of this statement. Several reasons will support my standing while two will suffice here.

To begin with, parents can lend help to their children if they choose the same jobs as their parents. As we all know, experience is one of the most important thing in one's career success, which will also cost a lot of time and effort for someone the gain. However, there is no doubt that parents are selfless and willing to help their children with whatever they could provide. If a child can get the valuable experience from his parents, then he could save a lot of time and lead in his peers. And this is possible only when the child choose similar jobs as his parents. Taking Bernoulli for example, I am sure that senior Bernoulli has a great influence on junior Bernoulli, who built his great achievement based upon the exploration of his father.

For another, parents are the best role models in their children's growth. Many children firstly construct their concept of the word job based their parents' jobs and they tend to regard these jobs as scared and be proud of it. With this intuitive sense of belonging, children would consider these jobs as some kind of missions or heritages from their parents. For this reason, I believe children will treat them more serious than other jobs that have nothing to do with their parents' jobs. For example, as we always see in a movie, the son of a policeman would be inherit his father sense of justice and hate against crimes, and it is more possible for him to be a good policeman since he regards this job as an honor to his father.

Admittedly, a best choice of job depends on a lot of other factors like personal interests, education background and so on. However, when we narrow down the scope and only compare the jobs that are similar to or totally different from parents' jobs, the former one makes more sense and it is more possible for child to success in.

For the reasons we mention above, I think this statement aligns more with my personal perspective.