TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I have not yet able to form my own family now when I am twenty eight years old. However, I have seen parents of my age pay more attention to education than my parents did. From my experience, I think that parents nowadays involve more in their children's education than before. I believe this phenomenon happened because of these following reasons.

First of all, contemporary parents have more free time to focus on education of their children than before. People live in last century have to spend most of time in a day to work for food and other life necessities, which are scarce during that time because of the lack of technology and science. Consequently, parents of the past ignore the importance of their childrne's education. By contrast, people nowadays are liberated from arduous work for a basic living and they own more leisure time than before. Therefore, some parents devote their free time in supporting and promoting education of their children. Parents nowadays frequently ask about performance of their children in school and contact with teachers.

Moreover, the importance of education urges parents to involve more in education of their children. In contemporary era education plays an important role in an individual's life. The level of education influences a person in work, living community and life quality. Without question, every parent want their children to lead a easy and happy life with decent remuneration in a friendly environment. Thus, parents endeavor to achieve this goal by providing better education for their children and involve more in the academic life of their children. My parents once told me that they would sell house for my tuition fee in university if they have to, because they want to support my education and wish me to live a better life than them.

In summary, I agree with the view that parents nowadays devote more time and effort in the education of their children than before. One reason is that parents own more leisure time in contemporary than before, and another reason is that the desire to help children to live a high quality life drives parents to intend and support education of their children.