TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is the most important part of everyone’s life, it is essential to be well educated to live a good life and teachers play a significant role in it. But is it necessary to spend more on the salaries of the university professors or it should rather be spending on other things? Many people think money should be saved for improving campus facilities like library, sports stadium and student center. However, I think that the benefits of spending money on salary far outweigh any negative repercussions.

To begin with, professors build the foundation of a student, it is mandatory to satisfy them so that they can teach students with honesty and passionately. There are so many colleges that do not pay a handsome salary to their teachers which lead to frustration because of which teachers do not pay much attention towards teaching. If a teacher is well paid and contented then he will definitely do wonders. I can say this strongly as I have seen professors who are very happy with their salaries and so they teach diligently, in fact, they are quite popular in universities and many students take admission just because of them. Hence, I believe that having a pleased professor is more important than a well maintained student centre as it cannot make the future of a student bright but a teacher can.

In addition, if a teacher is not well paid then he will look for other resources to earn money which will distract his attention from his job which will affect students. In today’s modern world, it is difficult to survive with less amount of money. Everything has become expensive, in order to cope up with this trend, it is essential to earn descent amount of salary to fulfill one’s needs. For example my father was a teacher in a college and he used to earn less which made it complicated to even have basic facilities at home. Finally, he decided to take private tuitions for college students to earn more money. Eventually, this improved our financial condition but it affected his capacity to teach in his college as he became less enthusiastic to teach there and also because he used to get tired by taking classes at home. Although, there are many more examples, but this one story clearly proves my point.

To recapitulate, though there are many people who would think that spending money on the salaries of teaching staff is not necessary as students today are not completely dependent on them, so, it does not matter how they teach in class. I disagree, I strongly believe that teachers not only teach the given subjects in class but they also help in building the personality of a student by encouraging them and helping them in solving their all kinds problems that they might face during college life. Therefore, teachers should not be neglected at all.