TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at today's university budget brings to light a question that has several times provoked debate, namely, whether raising salaries of university professors a good way to enhance the quality of education. Some might contend that by doing so, the professors would be more motivated to teach and to do research. However, I would like to suggest that it is advisable for the university to invest in other areas, like funding student projects and constructing infrastructure, to gain a higher quality of education.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that one of the keystones of higher education is the students' ability to think and behave independently. This is best illustrated by the student clubs at universities ranging from art, sports to sciences, many of which are financially independent from the school. As a result, it is not uncommon for many clubs to struggle with funding, impeding the members from fully developing their talents. Thus, it would be a worthy investment for the school to aid those clubs. Only by doing so can the students have more chances to trial-and-error, and to make progress or even innovate during this process.

Secondly, universities are supposed to update infrastructures on campus instead of paying the professors more. Were universities to improve their quality of education, they would need to do much more than simply increasing the quality of courses or attracting more renowned professors. For example, it is necessary for the university to provide sufficient seats in the library to accommodate the students. Experimental facilities, as another example, also require frequent update.

Last but not least, an additional support come to mind is that the money can be used to reward the students. As the tuition fee in universities is quite considerable, many talented students simply cannot afford it, other students may also have difficulties with finance. Hence, if the administration from schools can ease the students' economic burden through scholarship, it will attract more top students and motivate them to study harder. This shall in general increase the intellect level of the university, which in turn brings about improvements to the quality of education.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that it is unwise for universities to raise salaries of professors to improve the quality of education, and funding students clubs and update infrastructures on campus are two prime and conspicuous reasons.