TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

Group work projects are widely used by a lot of universities nowadays to improve the academic educational level. However, this may have devastating effects on both students and projects. That's why I disagree with assigning group work projects, and I believe that working alone would be more effective and productive.

First, students who work in groups on a certain project may lead to another student to become lazy and irresponsible. The partner in that group would throw all the work and responsibility on other students. This may cause the distribution of work to be unfair between the group members. Because of that, some students would be extremely upset and this will probably cause a low overall grade.

Furthermore, students working in groups may tend to waste their time on things other than the project. Students may lose their focus on finding good and productive ideas to improve their work, and otherwise focus on different things. For example, the last group project that I worked on was not a good experience for me. Me and my friends started to talk about different stuff and personal issues. So we lost our focus on the project and the time flew by so quickly. The due date came and we were not done. Because of that we got a very bad grade, in spite of the fact that all of us used to get a really excellent score when we work alone.

Another reason would be that group work projects may cause a reduction in the information and skills that we are expected to learn. Usually, in group work there would be a division in the tasks. However, this would decrease the amount of work done by each individual. Students would not be aware of what other students did and would not learn the skills used. For example, if a student was supposed to gather the references that should be used to obtain the information for the project. On the other hand, another student would be responsible for getting the material, and another one would be responsible for organizing and final review. Here, every student would only know what he did, and every one would become lost, especially if there is a lack of communication and different levels of understanding from different perspectives.

As a conclusion, working in groups for a project may lead to a reduction in the final result. This may be unfair to some students and would harm the process of learning. That is why I prefer always to work alone on my individual project to reflect the uniqueness of my own personality rather than losing the identity of the project