TPO 36- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children(five to ten years old) than to spend money on universit

It is acknowledged that education are essential in the continuing development of every country. However, opinions are divided when it comes to which one should be invested more funds, primary education or higher education? Though primary education plays a key role in the healthy growth of the kids, I am convinced that more money should be spend on universities. My reasons are as follows.

For one thing, compared to the education of very young children, universities require more money to educate the students. Majoring in specified subjects, students in the college are occupied in learning quite advanced knowledge. They not only have to buy quantities of textbooks, but also they need to do some research training in the lab, both of which cost a fortune. Take myself for example. As a medical student, I am supposed to take at least 10 courses in one semester such as Chinese medicine, biochemistry, cellular biology and so on. The expense of buying all the required books adds up to 6,000 dollars. Afterwards, I have to make the ends meet by doing part-time job for half a year. In addition, the mouse and chemicals needed in experiments also cost a lot. By contrast, less are needed with regard to a young kid in primary school. A few pencils and a sheet of paper, plus some simple devices used in demonstration experiment, can readily meet their needs. Therefore, it is safe to say that education in universities are more needy in money than the educations of very young children.

For another, money spent on universities will lead to some new advancement in science, which can be turned into profits of the whole country. Let suppose that the department of computer science in a university is funded. Then they may be able to upgrade their old-fashioned devices, and as a result, their experiments involved with computer are more likely to achieve some accomplishment. For instance, a new kind of computer will come out, with a higher computing speed and less electricity consumption. In this way, more energy are saved and a greater efficiency is guaranteed, booming the economy of all industries.

Some people may argue that spending money on the education of younger children can contribute to their healthy growth. Then, by the time they become adults, they will be highly qualified labors of this country, which is a fabulous aid in the prosperity of national economy. This idea sounds plausible at the first glance. Regretfully, we can find the flaws in it after careful examination. Can the education of younger children certainly be highly boosted with more funds? The answer is obvious, no. Admittedly, more money means that schools are able to hire teachers who are more eligible and can supply our children with a better education. But how can the more qualified teachers be available if there are not enough qualified moral school graduates due to the little money spent on universities? Thus, money spent on universities are relatively more crucial.

To sum it up, it is more important to spend money on universities rather than education of the younger children. Only when more money are spent on the universities can our country acquire a successful development.