TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without no doubt, some people would agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past, while others may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I firmly agree with the statement proposed. My mother used to be an excellent teacher, as well as is today one of my best friend, and comparing both experiences as teachers, I can affirm that the this noble profession is not appreciate as it used to be.

First of all, the profession has lost the high reputation that it use to has when I was a child. Certainly, in those old days, decide to be a teacher was an supported decision by parents and community. Today, pursue a teacher career would need a deep analysis and vocation to face all the difficulties of the hard and stressful work without the appreciation it deserved. For instants, my daughter that is finishing her high School and soon will pursue a university career, does not want to follow anything related with teaching or tutoring in a class, because she understand this lack of support teachers has now.

Additionally, the teacher's salary and benefits, compared with the past, have declined considerably. According to research, the teacher's salary in 1950 could afford the down payment of a small house in the middle-class suburban areas of a big city. On the opposite, today, a teacher's salary only can afford the rent of a bachelor apartment. Consequently, teachers are forced to take more than one job to afford their expenses. To illustrate this situation I would like to bring the example of my friend that want to have an extra income and decided to sell sweaters after her working day as elementary school teacher.

Finally, the respect students and parents have toward their teachers today has declined alarmingly. According to research by the Social Service, of the University of Toronto, the episodes of violence towards teacher in middle and high school has increment, in the last ten years. Consequently, it is safe to say that the society respected and valued more the teacher labour, in the past.

In summary, considering all the arguments exposed above, I indeed, believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past, than today.