TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the humans' history, education and being educated has always been a big concern for humankind and people tried their best to make an educated society. Today, a vast number of people believe that teachers are not being respected as they were before. On the other hand, some people think that teachers are playing the most important role in the society and in retrospect, they are being respected more. Actually, I agree with the first group. From my vantage point, teachers are not appreciated for what they do anymore, for a specific number of reasons.

As for the first reason, nowadays, the advent of technology has eased so many things such as communication, marketing and even education. By the improvement of technology and the widespread usage of the internet, people are able to complete their studies through the net. Today, every individual person has a technological device with an access to the internet; therefore, they can easily take online courses and study whatever they like without a teacher. They can easily find the answer of their questions, learn new things and make progress by using internet. Therefore, people realize that a small piece of technology can do whatever a teacher does and what they can do may not be appreciated anymore. For instance, I wanted to know more about differential geometry and I knew that I could not afford the price of taking a private tutor. Hence, I registered an online course and learnt what I wanted easily and free.

Secondly, today, schools have become an industrial place. Parents send their children to special schools to assure that they will achieve so many things. Therefore, they will afford high prices and they think that teachers have the duty to do whatever they can to educate their children. Hence, students will act like clients, they will be sensitive to every little mistake that the teacher makes, because they have paid lots of money, and they want the best things. As a vivid example, I remember when I went to high school, students thought that the teacher must respect them all, because if they did not register this school, the teachers would not earn money and they could not live easily.

Finally yet importantly, teachers were the centers of education in the past. There were not much people who can read and write in the past times and it was something unusual. Therefore, when a person had this ability, all the people in the town and city thought that he is a hero and started to respect him. Actually, because of the small number of teachers, the teacher was the only person making decisions about education. They were able to choose a method, find a place to teach and even decide the time of classes. Hence, they were people with different types of abilities that normal people did not have and they gave people an unusual ability by teaching them reading and writing.

To wrap it up, I am of the opinion that teachers are not valued by the society as they were in the past, because of the wide use of internet and technology, the alteration of educational systems and the moderation of being educated. However, I believe that teachers still play an important role in our society and we have to teach our children to appreciate their work.