TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

A glance at how people react to others' errors brings to light a question that has several times provoked debate, that is, if a teacher or a meeting leader has made a mistake, whether people should point it out right away, or to talk to them independently, or even ignore it. Some that contend that it is better to correct the mistake as quickly as possible, avoiding others from being misguided. However, if I were in the classroom or the meeting, I would choose to talk to the teacher or the meeting leader after others are not present.

First and foremost, discussing the mistake after classes or meeting offer me more time to explain my opinion. Classes and meetings are usually tightly scheduled, and interrupting and talking about something unexpected in prior can be a waste of time. Even if I have the time to state the error, I will hardly have time to explain it in detail, nor would the one who made the mistake have sufficient time to analyze the reason of making that mistake. This is definitely not suitable for solving that problem. On the other hand, if I talk to the teacher or the meeting leader afterwards, we can have a deeper discussion and hopefully prevent similar mistakes in the future.

Secondly, it is undeniable that no one is able to make no mistake in his or her life, thus people are supposed to tolerate each other. Understandably, being proved wrong in front of a group of people can be embarrassing. But this does not mean that we could ignore and do nothing to mistakes made by others. In fact, if I talk to the one who made the mistake independently, not only can they realize the mistake they made, but they can also feel respected.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who argue that pointing out the error right away is expected. For instance, by doing so, the listeners will have the chance to know that error, otherwise, they may get confused. Nonetheless, I still affirm that the teacher or the meeting leader can correct that mistake in the next class or the next meeting, and they can also take several minutes demonstrating what has led them to the wrong conclusion. Only in this way can others understand the causes of the mistake, instead of merely knowing the outcome of the mistake.

Due to aforementioned ground, I would choose to talk about it later when the teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect, and enough time to elucidate the mistake and show respect to others are two prime and conspicuous reasons.