TPO 47 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

The world today has become increasingly vigorous and news stories develop almost every second. Some people think that it is significant to know about events happening around the world while others regard the habit of watching news from distant areas as a total waste of time. As far as I am concerned, the international news is highly valuable, to a large extent.

Firstly, it is a wonderful means to broaden the minds of adults. For example, the international news reports inevitably contain a foreign culture from a certain country--from social manners to languages, from food to religious rituals. By being exposed to the exotic information, people can build up a cross-culture understanding, and their thoughts would become more flexible and adaptable, when encountering with the cultural diversity in future travelling and studying abroad.

Besides, international news plays a role of catalyst for the maturity of youngsters. Actually, many teenagers in some rich countries are overindulged because they grow up in a peaceful, affluent, safe and healthy environment. More or less, they might squander money with no restraint. However, when watching the pictures and stories about Africa, like the massive starvation, epidemics, and the homelessness and death caused by civil wars, they begin to realize how happy their lives are. Then they can learn to spend money in moderation, cherish food and clothes, as well as turn into kind and charitable people with a willing of giving.

Admittedly, the main reason against such news is that it has nothing to do with the daily lives of ordinary people. For example, the breaking news in other countries or continents--such as political scandals, work strikes, ups and downs of stock market exchange, is too far from the regional situations to provide practical knowledge or instructions for local residents. All they see and hear from the international news fail to reflect the truth and day-to-day changes of local community around them, or to improve their studying performance, or to teach them self-care skills for dealing with the challenges in a real world. On this level, the assertion about the international news wasting time is proper.

In conclusion, I believe that there are more vantages than shortcomings of having access to the global news. Although it might be unavailing for daily lives, its benefits in developing open-minded adults and grateful youngsters can never be overpassed.