TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There are certain considerations that everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the impact of celebrities on ordinary people. Someone contends that famous entertainers and athletes have equal influences on both the youngsters and the olds. However, I assert that their impact on young people is absolutely much greater than on the elderlies, for youths pay much more attentions on them and they are more likely to be influenced.

First and foremost, with the rapid development of technologies, the news about celebrities mainly spread via the Internet, to which youngsters have more accessibility than older people do. For example, when young adults are using their mobile phone surfing the Internet, the chances are they will encounter all kinds of news, both good and bad, about celebrities from all fields include sports, entertainment and science. As few seniors uses computers or cell phones, the information they received is much less than young adults. It is vividly clear that the reliance on the Internet determines youths are more possible to be affected by the celebrities.

Furthermore, age is another noticeable factor. No one can deny the fact that human are more prone to be influenced by their peer groups. Because of the reason that most celebrities, such famous movie stars and athletes are relatively young, their life and social activities are more attractive to young people, who are as old as them. For example, I always care about what Dan Lin, a young and famous badminton player from my country, is doing. Because I love badminton, and his achievements as a young man strives me a lot, so I consider him as someone I can learn from. However, my parents just cannot understand why I am so attracted by him.

Finally, an additional support come to mind is that youngsters are more prone to be influenced by other famous people due to lack of experience from life. Nowadays, the media tend to report the fashion lifestyles of many celebrities, which appear to be quite attractive to youths. For instance, my sister is always crazy what her idol is wearing, eating, or going. She tries her best to wear the same clothes with her idol, and mimic how she behaves. In my parents' eyes, her idol wears those expensive clothes just as an advertisement, which always annoys my sister.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that celebrities absolutely have more impact on young people than on the olds.