TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

In a journey of life, people make numerous friends, some are long lasting whereas others fleeting. What kinds of friendship- having friend for long period or many friends only for certain time- make human happy? There is a fervor debate about it. Some believe having a large friend circle for limited time plays pivotal role for maintaining happiness, while other believe to it's having a long term relationship are significant for happiness in one's life. People should, In my opinion, have long term relationship with friends to become cheerful.

To begin with, the level of intimacy are higher with friends, to whom we have known for a long duration. We tell them all about all our weakness and strength, what we feel, and our sentiments. Telling to them all makes people feel happy as people feel that they have someone they can rely on, express everything that come in their mind, which may be bad or good. The crony will never tell his opinion to others and their life of friendship is essential for a person to become happy. I have a School friends, for instance, to whom I share everything and he does to, but we, nowadays, meet for only occasionally. However, meeting him makes me happy as I can share everything to him, things that have happened in his absence and I am sure that he will not tell anything about me to others. In other hand, we know large number of people while confronting various task, but we are to them so limited. We only do formal communication, discussion about the work and we don't bother to say any personal matter to them due to fear of revealing my secret.

The help provided my them may be another justifiable reason. Close friends help their mate in every circumstances and to be happy, we need a person to whom we can rely on at time of need, and close friends are such ideal helping people. If we make a numerous friends, they may not be willing to help us that may cause risk. They may not trust you to provide huge sum of money even though they have it. However, in close friendship it is quite opposite. They do everything possible to help their friends and also they risk for you. My brother, for example, gave ten thousand dollar to his close friend Hari with a promise that he will return to it after certain time. He was my brother childhood close friend. I knew that he had pleaded with other new friends, but everyone denied. Finally, he told my brother and he knew that my brother would not denied.

In conclusion, some may believe short term friendship is essential for satisfied life, but I do not. Long term friendship provides security, intimacy and help. Therefore, I insist everyone should focus for few intimate friends to raise life quality.