TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is a pivotal component of one's life. Some people argues that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of individuals over a long time is more essential for happiness, while others claims that to make new friends easily is a more important ability to be happier. Weighing the pros and cons of each side, I prefer the former one that to maintain a small number of friends is more crucial for one's happiness.

To begin with, keeping in a small friend circle can enhance our friendship with each of our friends. That is to say, we can spend more time on each friend of us if we have a small quantity of friends so that our relationships with friends will be much more tight. In this way, it is more likely for us to know each other well, such us their hobbies, favorite TV shows and books, rather than just know the name of them. If we only know the name of our friends, we may not be happy as we suppose. However, if we know every aspect of our friends, we may have more frequent contact and interaction with them, such us watching TV and playing sports together, which will take us happiness.

In addition, to maintain friendships with a small number of people is more convenient and relax for us, especially if we are busy with our careers. In this fast-paced modern era, everyone is overwhelmed by the issues of their study, work and family, and no one can spend too much time to deal with their friendships compared to us in the past decades. Therefore, to maintain a small group of friends will not occupy our time and brain so that we may not feel exhausted and stressed, which is apparently crucial for our happiness.

Moreover, if we could maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time, then they will become our life-long friends. We will still contact with these friends when we become old. By contrast, if we get used to make new friends every day, we will lose our old friends one by one. As a result, we may not have any friend when we are too old to make new friends, which is a tragedy for one's life. Therefore, we are supposed to maintain a small number of friendships.

In conclusion, keeping a few but tightened friendships could enhance our relationships with friends, reduce our pressure in the busy life and let us obtain life-long friends. Judging from the situations and facts presented below, we could easily conclude that to maintain friendships with a small number of people for a long period of time is much better to our happiness.