tpo. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Nowadays, advertisements play such important role in our lives. Although through advertisements, people can become familiar with the latest products, most advertisers try to create unnecessary needs for people. Some people believe that products which are advertised are not as good as they appear. Others disagree. In my view, I believe that advertisements make exaggeration in introducing products.

First, advertising is considered as a way of showing products which have higher qualities than they really have. When you sit in front of TV, many tricky advertisements with catchy slogans giving lifetime guarantees make effort to persuade people to buy products poor in quality. For instance, one day, my family and I all were sitting in front of TV program to watch our favorite movies. Then advertisements showed vacuum cleaner which was floating in air and cleaned the dirty house within 1 minuet. Since we were thinking of a valuable and practical gift for our mothers. This made us surprised that how practical and magical electronic appliance we could purchase for mother’s day. So we ordered this products, my mother started using it, but after one week, it did not work very well. When we called the company to repair it, they refused taking responsibilities to fix it. As you can see, ads greatly exaggerate the quality of items.

Second, advertisers make the best use of the fame of popular celebrities to show their products are such unique ones. Because many fans are loyal to their favorite celebrities, they would like to have at least one of things celebrities advertise. For instance, I remember one of my friend who was a devotee of David Beckham had a problem with his cellphone. Because he could not afford new one, he refused buying it. While he watched new brand cellphone advertised by David Beckham, he forced his family to buy one of them for him. This products seemed unique and rare not because it was really high-tech but it was introduced to people throughout the world by a famous soccer. His parents decided to buy for him; however, since the advertisers accomplished their goals for sale promotion by increasing demands for this type of cellphone, they broke the price so that everyone would have one of them. This experience taught me that, advertisements are such deceitful ways that deceive people to have seeming unique products.

In sum, advertisements not only do show low-quality products, but they also persuade people to buy rare products which become a usual items. So ads capture our attentions to buy such useless products while they seem so much better. That is why we should all seek for true information on things advertised on TV, the Internet, newspapers. And I hope that one day, all tricky advertisements could be controlled by regulators.