tpo indepemdent 23

Many people think that working fast and quickly will save them time. They say that the now a day life rhythm is fast and they should keep up with the pace. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that working a little more slowly is better because this will decrease the risk of doing mistakes, and decrease the work tension.

First, working quickly leads to a lot of mistakes that can cause horrible results. Sometimes as we do our work quickly, mistakes may happen that is not easily spotted in the same moment. I can remember one of my friends who work as a pharmacist, used to work always in hurry. He dispensed a wrong drug to a patient (has a quite similar spelling to the right drug). Because he works fast, he didn't recognize that even the dispensed drug can't treat the man's illness. This led to a died patient. On contrast to that, one other friend who works as a pharmacist as well, works in a steady pace, she saved a patient’s life when she saw a medicine contra-act with the other medicines in the prescription. She called the physician and brought his attention to the drug interactions. He thanked her and correct the prescription. Mistakes not always minor, some of them can cause major action like life threatening, so we have keep a steady pace of work to avoid those mistakes.

Second, life is so hard on us on this time we live right now. It is full of responsibilities, which make us always under tension. Near work dead line is one of the things that makes us very stressed. For more illustration, my husband who works as an engineer faced with many deadlines for the projects he works on. I can see him most of time stressed, worried about the projects, worried about his capability of finishing them on time. I feel that soon he will need to use tranquilizers or antianxiety drugs. I can't imagine this young man in his thirties be treated with those drugs, and this all because he has to work in a very fast rhythm. On the other hand, I am a laid-back person, who deal with all the situation in a more quiet motion. I see myself still smiling despite the challenges I face every day as a mom or as an employee. In same time, I meet all my deadlines, my son never went to school without being done with his homework, my house is quite clean all the time, my work is always on time. Working more slowly will decrease tension and led to the same result (if not better) of good working.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I encourage all those who work quickly to try to slow down a little bit. If you did that you will discover for yourself how much it is better for your own life and for the others' lives.