TPO21 – Independent: A/D? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

To gain success at job one have to fulfill different criterion, studying hard and securing good marks is one of them. Various firms have different standards, regarding marks obtained in school exams, and to apply for a job in them one needs to have scores that meet these standards. Although once inside the company these marks does not matter anymore. What matters, is the ability to form professional bonds. In professional language some call it networking. There are several advantages of being able to relate well to people that benefit both the business and person as well.

To begin with, in most of the business employees have to have strong customer relationship management skills. This ensure that current clients are able to communicate their requirements comfortably. Resulting in better quality of product/service. For instance, many firms organize team building activities and invite their clients to participate in such activities along with the firm's employees. This not only helps business in understanding nature of their client well but also ensure that a bond is established among employees and their clients. No school syllabus can teach these skills.

In addition, a relation that could boasts of trust and clear communication also helps expedite business's internal processes. This in turn results in providing timely deliveries. Meeting deadlines is very important in competitive environment because loss of time means loss in terms of money and decline in profits. For example, in several job interviews an emphasis on ones ability to be a good team player is evaluated. This is because the people who does not fit well into team end up hampering the progress of the task it is trying to finish. These are some skills that commonplace school curriculum fails to scrutinize in exams.

Moreover, when people meet hardships in their professional life, a helping hand can only be expected, if one has been able to form worthy relations among peers. It seldom happens in industries that one achieves great success all by himself. In common cases, success is a result of combined effort and one can only expect others to get along only if he has maintained that kind of bond. Therefore, to ensure personal growth in addition to growth of the company, skill of developing sound relations is a must.

Conclusively, it can be said that studying with determination is capable of only earning a job that one desires, but the success at the job relies majorly upon one's ability to relate well to people at the office.