Tpo29. To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Agree or disagree?

When it comes to select between two options, whether universities should allocate more budget for faculties’ salaries to improve the quality of education or not, I should mention that without any doubt, universities should improve the qualities of education through applying other strategies not increasing professor’s salaries directly. If universities consider improving the qualities of education, they should allocate more budget for facilities and awards for professors rather than adding more money to professors’ salaries. This essay is going to elaborate on these reasons more comprehensively.

To start with, to improve the academic achievements in a university, university officials should spend money on professors’ academic activities rather than increasing their salaries directly. Many high ranking universities with remarkable reputation assign some budget to professors to carry out industrial and educational projects. For example, when professors need assistants, university provides this opportunities for them by giving scholarship to talented students who can assist professors in research areas and gathering information to keep going projects. When professors have done projects, university officials will award them, which creates more motivation for them to improve educational advance rather than raising their salaries regularly. Besides, some professors’ knowledge are limited, through raising their salaries, students cannot benefit from their information. It would be much better to give them awards while they submit articles. For instance, in my universities, Islamic Azad University of Science and Research, all faculties can get considerable amount of money if they patent inventions or get acceptance for submitting ISI articles as my professor and I received last year. I remember my professor was so happy and tried to write again other articles to submit other articles for other top journals with higher impact factors, which leads to a strong academic background of my university.

In addition, since students play important roles in improving the academic backgrounds of universities, university officials should spend more money on facilities. All students and professors need advanced laboratories to do experiments to gaining precise data so that they can submit articles. All students also need to have access to the high speed Internet to be able to download articles and watch educational videos to increase their knowledge, which could contribute to improvement in educational backgrounds of universities. Besides, students need facilitated libraries with enough room for evening study since many students need to have discussion to solve their problems. For example, in Islamic Azad University of Qazvin, the university official, Mr Mosakhani, allocates large space for students who carry out their robotic projects, so how can students improve the qualities of their robots without such these facilities? These mentioned issues cannot be gained from just professors’ education, so universities are required to spend money on facilitating universities rather than adding money to faculties’ salaries.

If universities officials are considering improving the quality of a university, they should assign considerable money on facilities of universities, and give awards to professors for their academic activities. I hope that all university officials understand facilities play such important roles in improving academic background of a university.