TPO32-(version2)

Living in the society with a galloping rate of development, no one can turn a blind eye to recent debates over whether young people today have impact on important issues. Different people hold different views due to their distinct backgrounds and perspectives. Some people adhere to the point that youngsters make no difference to significant problems of the society while others believe that young people are actually of great importance over those issues. This contention is so complicated and controversial that it is impossible to find a universal answer to the question. Nevertheless, to some extent, I am firmly leaning towards the latter. The following argumentation can substantially verify my standpoint.

Firstly, the youth is admittedly playing a crucial role in today's society through the internet, especially those worldwide social networks. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg is co-founder and CEO of the social-networking website Facebook, the user base of which has grown to more than two billion people, also one of the world's youngest billionaires. He founded the social-networking website Facebook out of his college dormitory room. Since then, Mark Zuckerberg can be credited with giving millions of people around the world a new way to stay connected with friends and family and to discover what's going on in their communities. He is actually changing the world's view and perspective of the current society.

On top of that, I want to point out that young people are showed to be much more enthusiastic and energetic than older ones. They care about the development of nowadays society, the living condition of the people in poverty, the interaction between countries, the solutions to deal with the environmental problems. Take my friend as an example, once she saw a piece of news that the government is going to build a dam over a river, which is proved to be harmful to the environment as well as the climate, in her hometown. She made up her mind immediately to boycott this plan by holding a demonstration. In merely three days, she gathered about a thousand people to back up her viewpoint by joining the parade, which can perfectly demonstrate that young people today can be a rallying point for the society.

Granted, we shall never neglect that there happen to be less young people in the headquarters or the decision-making group of important social issues. Thus, some people seem like live under the illusion that youngsters are of no use to their country as well as the society. However, they fail to take into account the fact that young people influenced those decisions to a great extent through various ways without acting as the decision maker. That they maybe not the decision maker of a party or the government cannot lead to the conclusion that they have no influence on the issues.

Overall, I believe that young people are playing a vital role in determining the future of our society as a whole, which has been empirically proven by the above statements.