What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

These days people spend a tremendous amount of time at workplaces and their satisfaction with a work process mainly depends on the attitude of their managers. Personally, I think that the essential characteristics of a great supervisor are his experience and his professionalism. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, employees can learn a lot from their experienced bosses. A knowledgeable individual who leads a team can be incredibly helpful for inexperienced workers. This kind of person is able to teach them important features of their jobs and give them a myriad of tips which he learned in his own practice. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Right after a graduation of a college, I started working as a pharmacist in a local pharmacy. At that moment, I thought that I knew enough about my job, but in fact, I was underestimating my abilities and faced a few negative situations with customers where I did not know how to resolve them correctly. My supervisor, who worked for the pharmacy for many years took time and explained to me how to deal with angry and inpatient patients. He told me that it was better to listen to unhappy customers carefully and did not argue with them, but let them talk about their complaints as long as they wanted and promised them to do everything I could to fix a problem. I followed his advice, and as a result, I learned how to calm down furious patients and even how to make them leave the pharmacy fully satisfied with our services.

Secondly, professionalism of a boss contributes to the success of entire team since people tend to imitate their supervisors` work style and hence, to act professionally as well. Indeed, when a manager cheers his workers, treats all of them in the same way, and maintains positive work environment, employees prone to follow this attitude because it makes a work routine more pleasant and less stressful. For instance, when my head pharmacist endorses his technicians` work achievements and praises them for a nice job, they feel encouraged and strive to perform their duty in the best way, even during very busy and overwhelming days. Moreover, my boss is always on time and he never gossips about his teammates, which highly appreciated and followed by all his subordinates. Therefore, everyone in the pharmacy goes to work with pleasure and our team is the most effective one in a company.

To conclude, I strongly believe that a considerable work experience and professionalism are the hallmarks of an excellent leader. This is because we can expand our knowledge by learning from a seasoned boss, and because employees will work with effectiveness and enthusiasm under a supervision of a person with professional manners.