What is the most important animal in your country?Why is the animal important?Use reasons and specific details to explain your answer.

The thriving economy of my country, Taiwan, which is located on eastern part of Asia, has its origin in agriculture. Since cattle are the most commonly-seen animal used for agricultural purpose, Taiwanese farmers have respected and valued them from generations to generations. Our emotional bonds with our land and cattle make this mild animal the most important figure in Taiwanese culture.

When agricultural machines were not yet popular in Taiwan, cattle were essential helpers for local farmers. Take my father as example; he grew up in traditional farmer family. After school, he always had to take their cattle to the field to work. When the work was finished, he would carry it to the nearest grass land for grazing, leaning on the side of the cattle, reading his textbooks. Even though we have ushered in a new industrial society, which farming becomes less important, yet many people still show their respect to cattle in a way of not treating them as food and so do my parents. Taiwanese remember what cattle have contributed for the welfare of people and they thank them with their whole heart.

In addition, cattle are also the symbols of diligence. Cattle work in the field with no complaints despite anything, which represents the conventional working attitude of the Taiwanese. As one old Taiwanese saying goes, “as long as you are willing to become cattle, don’t be afraid there is no land for you to plow.” This saying has accompanied plenty of Taiwanese people to walk through the economic and political predicament after World War II. We believe that, if we work hard, we can earn a better and more promising future.

In conclusion, I think simply stating that cattle are the most important animal in Taiwan is hardly enough to cover their value to us. The value of cattle has been way beyond economic one. What cattle mean to us is a spiritual connection with the land, the people, and our ancestral root as a whole.