What is one of the most important decisions you have made? Why was this decision important? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Someday, everyone has to make an important decision in his or her life. Personally, I made the most important decision in my life when I graduated from university. I was thinking whether to apply for a PhD program and continue my education or work for a company. In what follows, I state my decision and explain why I made that decision.

First, this decision was very important for me because it determined my career. I had two possible careers ahead: study for PhD and continue my career as a college professor, and second, work for a company as a consultant engineer. As far as I am concerned, teaching as a professor is less paid than an engineering job. On the other hand, a college professor can have more free time and vacation than an engineer working for a company. In addition, teaching at university is a routine job and sometimes disgusting. Teaching the same lessons each semester for years, dealing with students’ various problems etc. is not interesting for a person like me. In contrast, engineering involves challenges and problem solving, which I like and suits me well. Therefore, that is why I chose working as an engineer over teaching at university.

Secondly, it was a long-term decision. One not only needs to study five to six years for PhD but also have to start a new lifestyle as a professor. In my view, I believe that a person’s job should be compatible with the person’s personality. If I do my favorite job, I can work better and more efficient. For example, when I was at university, in our math class, the professor gave me a very complex project. For I like math and computer programming, I managed to work 10 hours a day on computer, writing a personal computer code to solve some mathematical equations. What’s more, I can have more fun. Doing my favorite job in my entire life is very delightful rather than doing the job I do not like or worse, hate or forced to do. I think I made a right decision because I believe doing the job I like is very important.

To sum up, my career choice after graduation from university is the most important decision in my life for the aforementioned reasons. Choosing a job that matches one’s personality and provides a reasonable income are the most important factors in decision-making. If so, the person can be more efficient and live happier.