You have decided to give several hours of your time each month to improve the community where you live. What is one thing you will do to improve your community? Why? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Nowadays, people very often feel overwhelmed by the pace of the modern life. People are so busy and sometimes do not have time to rest and enjoy little moments in life, such as reading an interesting book. But the little things like that are crucial because they make us better. Therefore, If I had decided to improve my community, I would have volunteered in the library.

First of all, with the development of technology, libraries need support from the society. Today people prefer to use technologic devices to read. Therefore, fewer people visit the library at the time and its significance has been declining. But the library is a great place not just for reading, but for studying as well. It provides quite an environment for those, who need to concentrate. For example, when I was preparing for the TOEFL test, I was visiting my local library constantly, because only there I was able to concentrate and study effectively. To that end, helping to maintain the library`s environment could be beneficial for people, who are looking for a quiet place to read or study.

Secondly, the library is a great place to enhance intelligence for children and adults. For instance, the library in my community has a tremendous amount of books and magazines, which could be interesting for different groups of people. Moreover, the members of the library can always take the books they like home and do not spend money on purchasing them. This way, in order to improve my reading skills for the TOEFL test, I always take ~National Geographic~ magazine home for free. It helps me save money and, what is, more importantly, lets me advance in the reading section of the test.

To conclude, I strongly believe that volunteering in the local library could be beneficial for my community. This is because in the library people can find a silent place to read or study and improve their academic performance.