Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities. Do you agree?

Young people are the future of tomorrow. They play an important role in their societies. There are many ways that young people can help their community, such as volunteer or involve in public services. Some people think that young people nowadays do not give enough time to help their communities while others disagree. Personally, I believe that young people do give a great deal of their time helping community for two reasons.

The first reason is that there are new ways of communications nowadays. The advent of the internet creates different ways to increase awareness among young people in public services. For example, young people use a lot of social media such as, Facebook, twitter, and Instagram to encourage each other. Last year in Jordan, students of Jordan university collected JD 200,000 to help Syrian refugees to buy blankets to use them in winter. It was a great idea that was done by young people who care, who care about their community. If those students were selfish, they would not have spent many hours sending messages through social media to refugees. Although those students were busy with their studies, they were determined to help. It is obvious that young people utilize the social media to help their community.

The second reason is that there have been an increasing number of awareness program for social services throughout the world. We have been facing many natural disasters recently, such as hurricanes and storms, and all parts of the community should tie to help. For example, New York was severely affected by Hurricane Sandy in 2012. Many young people applied to different institutes such as FEMA that concerned with cleaning the debris and helping citizens that lost their homes during the hurricane. Although many people argue that youngsters are careless, many young people have a great sense of responsibility.

In sum, young people do have time to help their community. Using social media makes it easy to increase the awareness among youngsters.