The ability to learn more than one language will be less important in future. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, it has been a growing trend to see people wondering whether the ability of speaking multiple languages will be less essential. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former.

At the outset, there is a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that by learning another popular language would open up people’s prospects in a highly important way. This is because more and more companies begin to trade internationally, thus their employees would be asked to relocate abroad or offered a promotion what requires language skills. Additionally, not only could it increase cultural awareness, but it could also prevent language barrier which has been a main issue of immigrants. Needless to say, all these upsides stand citizens in good stead when it comes to being proficient in more than one language.

Another pivotal aspect of the importance of being a multilingual speaker is that it helps to improve their brain functions and master their own language. The primary one stems from the fact that people who learn additional languages have to study grammar from scratch, thus they end up with much more depth knowledge of grammar compared to who know only one language. Last but not least, by acquiring languages with similar roots, it could help one to learn the others such as France, Spanish and so on. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favour of learning more than one language.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of using more than one language are too great to ignore.