City are now expanding, the government should make better network for public transport or should build more roads to facilitate car ownership? Agree or disagree?

The effects of the expansion of cities which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of the traffic problem has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on government in recent years. It can be agreed that it is necessary to take some steps to solve the commuting problems. This essay will elaborate how public transport and a better road system can enhance the daily commuting system and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why public transport system needs to upgrade but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that a public transportation such as buses, trains and trams are used by the commuters most frequently and majority of the people in cities prefer public transport over private cars. For example, research indicates that 70% people in Sydney and Melbourne use public transport despite having a private car. Thus, it is necessary to improve the public transportation system so that the public can travel easily.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that usage of private car is also significant for a better commuting system as there are innumerable reasons for that but the most significant one is that private vehicle provide door-to-door service, so it saves a lot of time. For instance, research shows that users of public transports spend an hour extra on travelling every day. Therefore, it is government responsibility to make good road systems so people can use their own vehicles.

From what has been discussed above, it can be agreed that significance of public transport is prominent but the way better roads save the time should not be overlooked.