City are now expanding, the government should make better network for public transport or should build more roads to facilitate car ownership? Agree or disagree?

In today's world, the importance of improving public transportation due to expansion of cities, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. Some people claim that efficient public transport is a better choice. However, opponents suggested that more efforts should be taken towards building new roads for private vehicles. In my opinion, I strongly believe that, making better network for public transport is more important for welfare of people also it can reduce traffic, air pollution and more safer.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why government should invest in improving public transport. But the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that a public transportation such as buses, trains, trams and ferries are used by people more frequently and majority of people living in cities prefer public transport over private cars. Not only this will reduce problems such as traffic and pollution, but will also make environment more clean. For instance, international studies have shown repeatedly that countries which have better public transport have less traffic and less pollution which is vital for healthy life.

Another justification for upholding this notion is that more roads will results in more vehicles and this can increase in road accidents. Besides, private vehicles are more expensive to maintain and any carelessness can results in serious injuries for drivers and other people on roads, moreover public transport is safer as compare to private vehicles during night jobs or early hours. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favor of public transportation.

In view of my arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the significance public transport are indeed too great to ignore.