Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products?" Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

In recent years we are seeing an alarming trend of over-packaging of products, especially food products. This is one of the tricks by which businesses try to customer attraction. This practice has impacts on our environment and economy also. While most of the people think that this should be controlled from producers side, my opinion is, we the consumer should avoid over-packaged product to reduce this practice. I will be explaining why I think like this in the following paragraphs.

Over-packaging was there from a long time. During 80's and 90's of the previous millennium, we see some products, mostly some soft drinks products, which used to over-package. The trend is now becoming more prominent and we can see over-packaging in most of the product category. Use of glossy plastics, eye catchy color, odd shapes packets is new trends. Sometimes businesses are packaging the products which don't require some package also. To give some examples, if we see different medicines package, we see they are unnecessarily packing the tablets in oversized packages. Also, though few foods like Banana, Corn already come with bio-degradable covers, we are still packing them with plastic packages. Use of more plastic, which is non-degradable and gives hazardous gases to the environment while burning. So, in an indirect way, it contributes to environment pollution. Also, use of excessive plastic and color is adding up costs to the actual cost of the product. Oversized packages take more spaces which lead to increase of transportation cost of the product and finally increase the product price.

So, as a consumer what is our responsibilities? In my opinion, we have major responsibilities to stop this practice. Consumers need to understand that over-packaging does not increase qualities the actual product. Sometimes, eye catchy packets are easier to find but that's all. Consumers need to understand that this is actually increasing the price, so for their own economic benefit, they should not encourage this practice. Consumers should avoid over-package product, plastic packed fruits and they should use only on generic medicines after doctor consultation. If consumer avoids this, there must be the dip in the sell and the producer will identify their strategy of over-packaging of the product and they will look for other alternatives.

So, my opinion is consumer consumers should take the initiative and avoid all over-packaged product and it is supported with detailed discussion in above paragraphs.