Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products , or is it the responsibility of producers?

Because of the modernization and globalization, most of the products are available all over the world. This booms the packaging industry in almost all the sectors. This creates over packaging sometimes which can cause many detrimental effects. I believe that as over packaging is introduced by the manufacturers, it is their responsibility to take care of it.

To star with, almost all the businesses have understood the importance of packaging. They started using lucrative but unnecessary packages to attract consumers and increase the sales. For instance, the food industry is the one which uses it more than any other industry. For example, many fast food chains use colorful and interesting packages. These increase the aesthetic appeal and consumer might ignore the negative consequences of the food. They might spend more than required overlooking the quality. Moreover, the price of packaging ultimately come to the shoulder of the customers.

In addition to this, most of the items are wrapped in plastic or paper which are harmful to the environment and as well as the planet as a whole. For example, usage of paper means cutting more and more trees which may lead to deforestation. Similarly, plastic is a material which can not be destroyed without adverse effects on the environment. Usage of it means an increase in pollution.

To conclude, although I feel that packaging is necessary to deliver the product to the customers without affecting its quality, overuse can cause inauspicious impacts not only on the individuals but also on the mother earth.