The experience of work is more important than having a qualification. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the phenomenon of employers favouring candidates with work experience over those with formal qualifications have sparked a hot debate. In my opinion, I believe that this trend is a negative development as it shifts students focus from learning theoretical knowledge to ways of gaining practical experience, in fact, qualifications are as important as work experience.

To begin with, academic qualifications can be the proves of candidate’s competency, and even excellence. University curriculums are designed with the ultimate goal to generate a quality workforce for the labour market. Often, these courses are challenging and demanding which require students to exert themselves to complete. Thus, whoever complete the course or holds the qualification would have been equipped with sufficient specialised knowledge, which is particularly the case for research-related jobs, based on academic excellence, rather than skills or experience.

On the other hand, work experience can benefit a candidate with useful skills to work with people from different backgrounds. Unlike academic skills, life experience helps people determine their strengths and weakness, as well as, better understanding of themselves. Moreover, for people interested in manual-related jobs, this is the opportunity for them to accumulate the practical skills they needed in the future and understand the career path they want to take for a full-time job.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe the importance of qualifications and work experience depends on different careers. As research-related jobs often require solid academic performance, manual-related jobs also require years of work experiences to start.