Governments promise continuous economic growth, but it is actually an illusion. Some people think that governments should abandon this. Please talk about the validity and implications.

Nowadays, whether governments have kept their promises to develop economy in a continuous approach, and embrace it or not, has sparked a heated debate. Although, contested by many that governments should abandon making such promise, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by a substantial number of individuals. In my opinion, although it is not always realistic to maintain the economic growth, I am inclined to believe that it is strikingly justified and reasonable to keep the promise of prosperity as a result of its positive social and financial effects.

To begin with, globalization has resulted in close relations between each country’s economic status as the world becomes an integrated system. With this promise of continuous economic growth, it gives the positive national image to the world, which further encourages local and international businesses. For instance, the reports from Chinese Ministry of Economic Affairs has shown a continuous 6% growth as a result of making similar economic promise in the beginning of this century. Thus, the promise of prospective economic growth is an indicator for the market and is achievable by making corresponding development strategies and legislation.

Furthermore, industries rely on government’s promise to make its corresponding economic plan. A study by the Economic has revealed that 70% of the industry increase its funding in careers and development sector after government made similar policies on economic growth. Thus, such promise increases employment opportunities and brings positive impacts on the economy.

In conclusion, it is virtual for governments to make promise on continuous economy growth to enhance a positive national image to its citizens and people around the world, which further encourages business development and stabilizes the society.