Happiness index is becoming a new national success rather than only economic growth. What do you think about this idea? What can be used to measure happiness index?

Over the past years, whether a country’s success should be measured based on its economic growth or national happiness index has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that national happiness index can measure a nation’s success, such issue is regarded thoroughly as both positive and constructive by a substantial number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that the measurement of economic growth can be a plus, and I will discuss the controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

To begin with, a small nation, Bhutan, has proved success in using National Happiness Index as the primary way to measure its progress. It measures prosperity through the spiritual, physical, social and environmental health of its citizens and nature environment. According to one of the studies conducted by University of New South Wales, 87% of Australians support the notion that happiness is the most important thing a country should focus on as majority of people believe that it helps creating a harmony society. Therefore, National Happiness Index measures citizen’s satisfaction which ultimately benefits a society.

On the other hand, it is impossible to deny the importance of economic growth for a country that provides better infrastructures, education, transport and services to its citizens. For instance, a research conducted by Ministry of Economic Affairs showed that countries with higher economic growth has higher corresponding National Happiness Index. Hence, National Happiness Index is heavily relied on a country’s economic development.

In conclusion, I profoundly believe that the wealth of a country shall be determined based on both National Happiness Index and its economic growth. Governments of the developing countries shall create policies related to environmental conservation and sustainability to ensure well-being of their citizens and increase their happiness index.