With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of v

Owing to the rise of digital media in recent times, many believe that the role of the library is now obsolete and University should provide eBooks instead of traditional books. This essay will elaborate both positive and negative effects of this position and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are several reasons why role's of library is now becoming out of fashion; however the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that digital assets are easily accessible. Due to the advent of internet, it is quite easy for someone to share a file with someone who is miles away. Digital books can be shared and accessed in a click of mouse button. To cite an example, earlier college students had to wait for journals to come library but now with the help of internet students can read the journals as soon as it is published. Therefore, accessibility of digital books played a major role in weakening the condition of traditional library.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks in the eBooks which can negate the influence of digital books, but the most alarming one lies in the fact that it is not as attractive as normal books. It is known fact the many college students go to library because there is certain charm in books. Covers of books, smell of books are such qualities which attract college goers. Moreover, digital books allow students to be involved in plagiarism which is an offence. Therefore, role of library in the society will remain strong because people still like traditional books

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that digital media is prominent in the future education, although the students should not forget about the traditional way of reading in the library.