With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

The recent trend of using digital media is gaining popularity in public. While the role of library has almost become obsolete, should universities also prefer digital media instead of the traditional textbooks? In this essay I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of using e-books and share my opinion on it.

The idea of digital media has exponentially gained popularity in recent years. People are preferring it instead of traditional legacy books, and the main reason behind that is the cost either very cheap or free. Keeping multiple e-books is also easier than keeping the paper books. For example, the paper book not only acquire space but also to keep multiple books all time is not possible, whereas keeping e-books as many as you want is undeniable. Therefore, digital media should now replace the legacy books in university as well.

Contrary to this, traditional paper books are now losing the audience. The libraries are not receiving the number of visitors that it used to receive. The information in books is obsoleting quite often nowadays and for the release of revised edition cost in another factor. A recent survey conducted by the reputable institute shows that the 67% of the university students prefer the e-books rather than the paper books. Thus, the era of paper books is about to an end.

The use of the digital media gained a lot of popularity, paper books and library are almost getting obsolete. While the legacy books are at decline, the digital media is rising. In my opinion university should provide digital material rather than textbooks.