Law can change human behaviour

These days, it has been a growing trend to see governments using laws to control human behaviour. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that countries with the strict laws have a minimal crime rate. For example, in Singapore, criminals who commit a criminal offence such as smuggling drugs must face a death penalty. Therefore, this law is not only creating a sense of fear among people of getting punished but also preventing the similar crime happening in the future. Needless to say, all these upsides stand the citizens in good stead when it comes to controlling how people behave by using rules and regulation.

Another pivotal aspect of using laws to change human behaviour is that the absence of laws would result in an unsafe society. The primary one stems from the fact that traffic laws in some countries are not strict enough to be followed and it leads to a high number of road traffic deaths. Last but not least, cyber crime has become a grave issue in these days, which already has some regulations in place, but these are not followed by the people. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favour of using laws to change human behaviour.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of using laws to change how human behave are too great to ignore.