"Mistakes, obviously, show us what needs improvement. Without mistakes, how would we know what we had to work on?"

Are mistakes the portals of discovery or progress?

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Many people are of the view that mistakes are progressive, while others believe that mistakes are discovered. In this essay, I will discuss the reason due to which I am inclined to believe that mistakes are in-fact portal of progress.

From an educational perspective, mistakes can lead to astonishing results. When a person makes a mistake, he often tends to see the reasons behind his mistake, which results in increasing his knowledge. For instance, when I was in university, I made a-lot of mistake during engineering prototype design and my professor corrected me always. If it weren't for those mistakes, I would have never gained the true knowledge of design a prototype. Hence, mistakes tells a person that he needs to focus more which in turn increases his learning.

On the other hand, mistakes can motivate an individual. For motivation and dedication, a person needs to identify the areas where he needs to put more effort, and this can only be achieved by making mistakes. For example, a captain of a football team can only realise the true potential of the team players by making some mistakes in team arrangement. Therefore, mistakes can only lead us forward not backward.

In conclusion, mistakes can help an individual to get better results in education and mistakes can enhance person's leadership skills. In my opinion, mistakes in their true essence is progress which can't be achieved in any other way.