Nowadays, large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development?

In today’s era, development is one of the significant factors, which determines any country’s prosperity and growth as a result it can be seen that many large shopping centers and supermarkets have been built for providing more convenient to customers which in turn has made customers do shopping more in such giant complex rather than in local shops. Hence, I am to discuss the positive and negative outcomes which may be associated with this.

To begin with, infrastructure in terms of shopping centers and supermarkets can result in manifold positive changes. Firstly, shopping has become a favorite activity of people, therefore they prefer such places for shopping where they can purchase anythingthing which they need, ranging from groceries to clothing and more, consequently, they do not have to make multiple stops at different stores to get the needful, hence, making shopping extraordinarily convenient. Secondly, these shopping centers make available product of every brand with attractive discounts which one cannot find out in local shops, furthermore, large shopping malls provide all the amenities which customer want such as parking, resting areas and so on, which make people’s experience more exciting, but all these things are absent in local shops. For instance, it has been seen that nowadays people do not want any compromise in their comforts, and thus they prefer to go to these big market places.

On the other hand, every development is accompanied by certain negative things, which is similar in this on account of manifold reasons. Firstly, these shopping centers have become a major cause of downfall in the sales of local shops, which ultimately hit on the livelihood of local shopkeepers, which is utterly erroneous. In addition, local shops are now on the verge of losing their existence and business because of the availability of all products in supermarkets at an economical price, due to which local shopkeepers try to compete with such centers by taking loans in a hefty interest despite that they do not gain profit because of the amenities which are made available by the supermarkets. For instance, it has been seen that people now consider shopping as their symbol of prestige correspondingly, prefer to do shopping in big malls.

In conclusion, I believe that development is necessary for any country in terms of supermarkets but there should not be any kind of impact on local shops, as local shops contribute equally in the development of any nation.