Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion?

Parents play vital role in shaping future of children. Should they be held responsible legally responsible for their wards? In my opinion yes, as this will help in bringing down crimes, addressing issues at early years of child’s development.

Firstly, Good parenting is very important. Parents spent most of the time with their children during their early years of age. They provide them ecosystem to develop, understand things in life. If parents can ingest good habits like respecting others, value of life and communal harmony then they will grow to become good citizens. Due to fast paced life parents are not doing their part and expect schools and teachers to play their roles in children’s life. If we can enforce legal responsibility on parents then will start paying more attention to their children.

Secondly, it is believed that most of the juvenile criminals have background. It may be family issues or friends. It is very important for parents to realize at early stage of child’s development so that bad habits should be not continued. If they think that they are not able to address these then we have government agencies and NGOs to help. Bring your child to these agencies. They have experience in dealing cases of all sort. By doing this parents will be able to fix most of the issues during early ages.

Parents should not encourage child for any wrong act. It may be when he stole something from school, party you attended, driving before legal age or DUI – driving under influence. Enforcing legal responsibility on parents when their child commits crime will also have psychological impact on parents and their child. He will know my parents will be detained if I do this. Also parents will be stricter in terms of monitoring child and his activities.