Should government build more road to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

The role of the government to build more roads to accommodate vehicles or to increase the network of public transportation sparked heated argument among certain group of people. Many believe that government should concentrate on building more roads. Others reject this notion and argue that democracy should focus more on improving the public transportation. In my opinion, improving the public transport is the best solution to overcome this problem. This essay would further elaborate both sides with examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, one of the most important issues in today's world is increase in the number of vehicles on the roads. Critics believe that possessing one's vehicle is the citizen choice and government should take appropriate actions to provide the space for them. For example, recently in Sydney due to the rapid increase in the number of vehicles from 20% to 60 % in last decade, government of Australian has taken initiative to build roads and accommodate increased motors on the roads.

On the other hand, there is a debate of arguments going to improve public commute services such as increase in buses, trains. Government has to start promoting advantages of public transport and its benefits to society and to our environment. It is the only way to reduce traffic congestion on roads. It will not only improve the public transport but also reduces the traffic jam and decrease the environment damage caused by poisonous gasses released from vehicles. Improving public transportation can also help people from all different classes including lower to upper middle class. For example, according to BBC channel, the newly built metro trains in India has reduced traffic problems from 50% to 20%. This example clearly exemplifies us there is a strong correlation between improve in public transportation and reduce in traffic jams.

According to the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out to conclusion that the benefits of strengthening transportation, infrastructure are indeed too good to ignore and further the government has to take steps to improve public modes of transport which not only reduces traffic but also decreases the global warming.