Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on

reputation or on short term strategies like discount and special offers? Why?

Marketing for consumer goods companies should focus on reputation or on short-term strategies has always been a debatable topic. Many people believe that working on short-term offers will yield good income. I would advocate investing in special discounts on regular intervals. This essay would further elaborate how discounted offers will be more beneficial with clear examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, to advertise products and promote their special offer campaigns, companies spend a huge amount of money and time. While promoting goods like clothing and food, they not only focus on promotions but try to increase their reputation through various media outlets. For example, when Nestle promotes its maggie noodles at a special discounted price, it will attract more customers than its original price. This example, clearly explains to us that Nestle will not only promote their product but also build a reputation in the market.

Secondly, short-term discounts can boost up revenues of the company. Take, for instance, startups hit the markets with weekly or monthly offers. This strategy generates excess revenues for the short period of time. This example evidently shows that the special offers can effectively contribute to the growth of a company. From this, it can be said that the former strategy can kill two birds at once.

In a nutshell, concentrating on discounts and offers strategy will reap more benefits as it also contributes to publicity of the companies. Therefore, I strongly believe that following this strategy will lead to progress of the company.