Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on reputation or on short term strategies like discount and special offers? Why?

Many people believe that creating a brand value is significant for winning a heart of customers and to build a long-term relationship. In contrary to this, many people have an opinion that short-term approaches such as a discount, offers and festive bonanza are the better options to avail. I firmly and wholeheartedly believe in the former view. I will elaborate points to support my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, to begin with, building a trust, fidelity and companionship even with friends and families take ages and relationship is something which is nurtured and developed over the time. The same applies to customers who should be dealt with extra caution reason being they always have a choice to move to a different product. Building a brand means developing a strong bonding with customers in terms of quality and services. Prices may vary from one product to another but the moment the customer gets associated with your product he would not prefer to move anywhere and would not mind travelling the extra mile to search for it. Providing short-term strategies and discounts could be beneficial for a season but can have an impact to quality and services which will have drastic implications on the product and should be avoided.

On the other side, many people have an opine that an apt approach is to come up with short-term strategies to boost the financial strength of the company, get some profits to utilize the revenue in next quarter. However, we have seen that this approach only work for a couple of times and leads to reduce in quality overall. Take an example of Snapdeal – an e-commerce engine, they established themselves initially very well but in verge of having a competition with other giants like Amazon and Flipkart they instigated discounts and special offers which gave them the profit but to organize large merchandise and unexpected high volumes their services degraded and that deteriorated the customer’s experience. Today Snapdeal is on the point of extinction and struggling to survive.

In Conclusion, long-term relationship plays an indispensable role to survive long in the industry. Initially, maybe profit would not be at par but later it’s paid off.