In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with notion of compulsory voting?

Or If Voting is compulsory in democratic society, what conclusions can we draw about ‘Nature of Democracy’?

The topic of compulsory voting is controversial in a democratic society. While many people think that it should not be compulsory and there should not be any penalty for not supporting it, many governments believe it should be mandatory to get everyone views in an election. This essay will shed a light on both aspects of this issue and draw a conclusion on the basis of below arguments.

Democracy gives many flexibility and power to an individual citizen to make rules, to choose their leaders and to make better future. Forcing them to do something they don't want is not really a democracy. Many of countries penalize their citizen for failing to participate in an election which does not seems right because people may not have an interest in politics or they are busy or they simply don't care whoever wins or loses. Therefore making a voting system mandatory does not make sense for a democratic nation.

However, everyone opinions play a pivotal role to select right leader for a nation. If well-educated citizen starts making excuses to skip voting because of their job or something else then who will select a good leader? There will be high chances that bad guys can win election making situation even worse. Moreover, it will not be fair if politic wins just by few votes to make a strong constitution for a country.

To sum up, democratic society should give the flexibility to choose whether their citizen wants to vote or not. Despite that fact, voting of every citizen plays a crucial role to select the right person for a country. Overall, looking at the above arguments, I personally believe that voting should be made compulsory.