Some people think the purpose of education is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. Others think the purpose of education should lead to self-fulfillment. What is your opinion?

In recent years, whether the primary purpose of education is to prepare individuals to enter the workforce or to fulfill their dreams has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the main reason of being educated is to secure a good job, such issue is regarded thoroughly as both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that the fundamental purpose of education is to prepare people to contribute to the society while achieving their personal goals and careers, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, government provides citizens education in return for their skills and knowledge to help build and develop the society. Students are encouraged to participated in various workshops, activities and socials in school to increase the knowledge in different aspects of lives. According to one of my survey which I conducted in university, 89% of countries that provide citizens basic education to high school becomes developing countries about ten years. Thus, education provides a nation with skilled and innovative citizens for different occupations that contributes toward a better society.

On the other hand, achieving personal goals and ambitious through education fulfill individuals’ needs which play essential parts in their lives. With the increased belief in individualism, the purpose of education aims at helping one achieve their dreams and realize their talents. For instance, courses such as music, art and performance have almost the same amount of people attending comparing with engineering, science and mechanics. Hence, people in developed countries tend to focus on their passions instead of aiming to get a good job in the future.

In conclusion, education prepares one to enter the workforce with valuable knowledge and skills while also fulfilling one’s needs and helping one achieve their dreams.