As you read the passage below consider how Jimmy Carter uses evidence such as facts or examples to support claims reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence stylistic or persuasive elements such as word choice or appeals to emotion to a

In his foreword to the article "Arctic National Wildlife Refuge: Seasons of Life and Land, A Photographic Journey", former US president Jimmy Carter argues that the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge should not be utilized for industrial purposes. He effectively supports his argument by presenting a personal anecdote, making use of vivid language, proving that the industrial benefits are not worthwhile and providing a better solution .

Carter begins his article with a personal story about a time when he and his wife went camping and hiking in the Arctic Refuge regions. "There was a timeless quality about this great land", he writes, and "as the never-setting sun circled above the horizon, we watched muskox, those shaggy survivors of the Ice Age, lumber along braided rivers that meander toward the Beaufort Sea. Furthermore, he mentions an experience of witnessing "the migration of tens of thousands of caribou with their newborn calves", making the "sweep of tundra" "flooded with life". In describing these memorable experiences, Carter establishes the natural beauty and liveliness of the Arctic Refuge in a surprisingly vivid way, which strongly provokes the audience's feelings . Following this, the readers find it easier to relate to the author's point of view through this personal anecdote and eventually agree with his claim, because the feelings they experience are not made-up, but real emotions. Also through this personal story, the readers can understand well why Carter makes his argument. As a result, the audience are more likely to agree with Carter on his claim that the magnificence of the Arctic Refute regions should be preserved

Another piece of rhetorical technique that Carter employs to further his claim is his use of distinct language choices. Such phrases as "“America’s Serengeti”, and "tearing open the heart of our greatest refuge" act as tool to draw the readers in the author's view emotionally. Upon noticing these phrases, the audience directly feel a sense of pride in the first phrase and a sense of sadness in the second phrase. They can not help to feel proud of their country for having such a magnificent wildlife and at the same time, they feel unhappy to about the day this refuge be ruined by all the industrial firms. These emotions gradually translate to feelings of sympathy towards the authors' point of view, which in turn make the author more relatable, adding the another piece of persuasiveness to the article. By writing is such a captivating fashion, Carter empowers the readers to have the same opinion with him that the beauty of the Arctic Refuge should not be demolished for industrial purposes.

Carter's claim is also reinforced by his demonstrating that the benefits acquired from exploiting this area is not so substantial and mentioning of a more effective option for assisting the industry. He states that "at best, the Arctic Refuge might provide 1 to 2 percent of the oil our country consumes each day", while "we can easily conserve more than that amount by driving more fuel-efficient vehicles". In pointing out these facts, Carter strongly appeals to the readers' reasoning. As they consider these two claims, they are convinced of the author's argument because logically there seems to be no reason not to protect the area now. By putting forth these two subtle but powerful points, the author rebuts the only potential advantage of exploiting the area and strengthens his argument that the area should be protected.

Responding to the proposals that the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge be used for industrial developments, president Jimmy Carter makes an argument that this area ought to be protected from exploitation . By utilizing techniques of telling a personal anecdote, using appealing language, and putting forth an alternative to achieve industrial progress, Carter persuades the audience of his claim.