61 The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony Last year however private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at

The article appeared in the Grandview Beacon states that the funding of the symphony can be fully eliminated next year. To bolster the argument, the author claims that private contributions are increasing, there is more audience coming to the symphony, and there will be an increase in ticket price next year. However, before this argument stated, some questions need to be addressed first.

The author writes that the private contributions to the Grandview symphony increased by two hundred percent last year. Without knowing the original percentage from the year before, how can we ensure that two hundred percentage was a big increase? What if the private contribution was only one percent in the past? Even if it is true that personal funding was increased in a large percentage, it could not conclude that more personal funding would lead to more profits in the future. Therefore, the question of the growth of personal funding would need to be answered at first to support the argument.

Another question that needs to be answered is the attendance of the symphony. Since the article assumes from the doubled attendance last year, there will also be an increase in profit next year. How do we know that having more audience come to the symphony would provide more benefits? More audiences come to the symphony might because the ticket was free, or it might be an abnormal phenomenon that happened last year. Consequently, without the credence to answer this question about the increase in attendance, it’s untenable to boost the argument.

Besides, the announcement of increasing ticket price next year cannot fully support the argument as well. How do the commissioners promise that there will be an increase in profits by raising the price of tickets? If the ticket price increase, there might have a fewer audience to come since it’s too expensive to go to a symphony. Also, higher ticket price might be caused by higher costs that more money are needed in renting places, buying customs. As a result, the elimination of the funding might arouse negative effects on the symphony, so the question needs to be addressed first.

All in all, the commissioners' decisions on Grandview symphony is tenuous. They need to answer the question about the percentage of private funding in the past, possible increase in attendance in the future, and the possible effects of ticket price increasing.