“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In colour film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits.”

The argument presented states that an organization tends to mature with time in terms of its efficiency, as with experience it learns how to do things better. Further, an example is provided to validate the conclusion that the same is supposed to hold in the case of Olympic Foods. The argument as such lacks certain facts and appears to be logically deficient.

Firstly, the example appears to be irrelevant and lacking on some grounds to support the claim of the argument. It says that, colour film processing service has become more profitable with time. Here, the example presented and the argument are not parallel as the author is comparing an industry as a whole to a particular company in a different industry altogether. The author then goes on to claim that since, Olympic Foods is about to complete its 25 years in the industry thus, it will be able to minimize costs and maximize its profits pertaining to its expansive experience. While this might be true but, the argument does not provide any information about the past financials of the company. For example, Lehmann Brothers was one of the oldest and largest firm in its field when it collapsed. Therefore, author’s claim about the financial well-being of an organization solely on the experience it has is unfounded.

Secondly, the author is comparing two industries that vertical and horizontally different. While the colour-film processing industry is driven by the latest advancements in technology, the food industry is highly consumer centric. So, the fact that the former has become more efficient cannot be solely attributed to the experience the organization has but, to the development of better and better technology. For example, the Pulse candy although brought in India by a consumer industry conglomerate, was only successful because of its excellent reception among the audience and not because the company was efficient. Hence, the example seems to provided very limited support to the argument.

Pertaining to the above-mentioned fallacies the argument does not appear sound and lacks important information and facts related to Olympic Foods based on which one could comment about the profitability of the company.

The conclusion would have been relevant if we had information relevant to the past and current financial status of Olympic Foods. If they were already in huge losses it would be highly unlikely that they will be able to maximize profits. Apart from that, the argument would have been stronger if it presented a coherent example which could further solidify the author’s claim that experience eventually leads to efficiency which further leads to success and profitability.