competition is a good strategy for motivating learners

Keeping learners motivated is sometimes a struggle. Any strategy must balance the need for improved understanding and knowledge against the pressures of underperforming, without stifling their original desire to learn. Competition can enhance motivation in the short term, but over time it is a poor strategy for motivating learners. What takes learners the farthest and motivates for the long term can only be found inside themselves. To truly motivate learners one must continuously stoke the fires that drive their passions.

Learning anything new is stressful, especially if it hard to absorb the material. The impact of introducing competition to learners is an additional stress that could motivate those individuals whom absorb and understand material quickly, but be disproportionately burdensome to anyone struggling to keep up. This type of external stress is good in short term bursts, but prolonged periods of competition in the learning environment can stifle the internal passion which drove individuals to learn in the first place.

Aside from the additional stress it may bring, competition against other learners could artificially limit the amount of knowledge gained by the group. When the focus becomes winning the competition, the incentive is only to grasp more than the next person not necessarily learn as much as possible. In the absence of competition a passionate learner might absorb an immense amount of material for the sheer purpose of understanding the subject. However, it is a poor strategy for motivation. Constantly reminding learners of how well their peers are performing might incentivize them to reach for only marginally better performance.

A good example of competition in a learning environment is the grade point average (GPA). It is well documented that many students stress over achieving the perfect GPA. They may be disinterested in courses, but choose to take them anyway for the sheer purpose of enhancing their GPA. The internal motivation to learn is replaced by the internal anxiety to not be judged against their peers and in many cases this leads to poor performance.

It is important to keep learners motivated in their subject, but competition is a poor strategy. It attaches unnecessary stress, artificially limits the passionate, and distracts learners from the purpose of what they're trying to achieve. The best motivation for learners is to identify what inspired them to learn in the first place and keep that fire lit so that it can continue lighting their passion throughout their journey through life.